Imperfect

Holding my hand,
he walked me along the lines
when what I wanted to do
was to read between them
in the poetry of his days,
of his past,
of his soul

he hesitated
giving vague excuses
that it’s too soon
as if there were other
more important things
left for us to do
but I knew:
he was afraid
his scars
would scare me away

it’s funny
I never even tried to disguise
the ugly imprints
of my own bad decisions
fossilized on my skin
or even bothered to
pat Neutrogena concealer
on the still-warm echoes
of my recent falls from grace
or even think
it was worth the effort
to throw a veil
over the festering consequences
of my many lapses of judgement

I stood in front of him bare
blemishes,
webbed stitches,
stretch marks
and all

and all he saw was a crowned goddess
his Venus de Milo
epitome of perfection

still he wonders
if he’s good enough for me

7 responses to “Imperfect”

  1. Sylvia Barrow Avatar
    Sylvia Barrow

    Wow Iris. this is what I like about your poetry… Real talk, your poetry is so real to me that it touches me deep inside and makes me a little sad sometimes even shed a tear…keep doing what you do Iris because you so it so well…

  2. hi sistah i love this picture and the words… and you speak of venus de milo it is one of my favorite sculptures and I was going to use this in a piece you beat me to it..I so love us

    this is awesome you write way ahead of yourself

  3. Beautiful. Excellent! I really enjoyed this.

    jewell

  4. Mancha de Platano Avatar
    Mancha de Platano

    Ache’…..You belong to another time……..

  5. Yasmien Anthwanique Love Avatar
    Yasmien Anthwanique Love

    Love it !!!!

    1. kenneth r tucker Avatar
      kenneth r tucker

      And I love you. Please call me 7705961076

  6. Angela Valenzuela Avatar
    Angela Valenzuela

    Hey Miss Iris would it b ok if I post ur poem on my notes? 🙂 .. I like it!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Get updates

From art exploration to the latest archeological findings, all here in our weekly newsletter.

Subscribe