On the Banks of the Rubicon at Dawn

·

,

And if we never see the world

if we never slow dance with the sky
or sweet talk with the clouds
or get intimate with a virgin sea

if we never get carried
by bullet trains to places
that will rewrite this life
for our weary eyes

if we never find
our storybook adventure
or lay our heads
in the cashmere of twilight
with ephemeral diamonds

if we never share a table
with fame and fortune
to get drunk off liquid temptations
and bottles of expensive sin

if we never change the course
of history, or touch
the hearts of millions

if we miss the chance
to write our names on walls
where we will be remembered

may we be wise enough to see
that the love we found
has always been enough
to feed our dreams
and our sense of wonder

that inside it we have a kingdom
and the wind blows like
satin mysteries over the miles
of our inner journeys
where we have traveled far
and seen plenty

that we are worthy

that here,
we did something that measures up
to the prestige of ancient
civilizations we never witnessed
and the glamour of foreign
languages we never spoke

that our choices to drop
our anchors at this shore,
to build a home and over the years
keep repainting these same walls
so we could hope to feel new,
have all been rewarded by voices
and footsteps and little handprints
of postcard-worthy moments

that over this old familiar horizon
we have seen sunrises and constellations
each different from the one before
each beautiful

that what’s outside
of the universe we’ve created
may be lovely, but
it can be sung with
a few well-chosen verses
and vicariously lived
in quiet contentment
through the words and lenses
of those who walked
a different path from ours,

without regret

and with my hand
clasped in yours

29 responses to “On the Banks of the Rubicon at Dawn”

  1. Simply lovely. “Or lay our heads in the cashmere of twilight”…love doesn’t get much sweeter than that.

    1. Thanks Lisa. I’m still trying to sleepwalk my way back to form. 🙂

  2. Aaayy. Ang ganda – sana maging applicable to sa akin someday haha! Walang kupas, Iris :-*

    1. Leny, I’m sure when you get in a situation where you make such big choices as I did and realize it may not be possible to have it all, you’ll still make what you have full of classiness, wit and other Leny things. 😉

  3. I love you, and I love your poetry! Thanks for sharing your gift with the world~

  4. Roberto Robreño Avatar
    Roberto Robreño

    Oh my. I’m awestruck! What a gift with words and feelings. Sigh. O_O

  5. I love it when your muses tickle you to create beauty such as this. Just wonderful, Iris!

  6. When I read your poetry, I am always wondering, if one day, when you have lived your life and many generations have passed, will they mention your name with Ralph Waldo Emerson, Emily Dickinson, Maya Angelou, Robert Frost and the likes of Walt Whitman.
    My dear sister Iris Orprecio you have a tremendous gift. A talent that may have you one day writing poems about the things you refer to as “if we never…” With your gift, you just might do all those things, clasping your Rays X 2 hands and eventually writing about those experiences. May God grant you these things and may He allow you to continue to write ever more beautifully about those wonderful experiences. So that the rest of us, by reading your writings, may also be swept away, to those far off lands, which we all long to see. 🙂

    1. Aww Sis. Doris you just made me cry. 😀 Thank you and I do want to write for life and am grateful for the experiences that give me the inspiration. These days I find myself praying that if I could just give this little man everything he needs, I don’t really need to receive my own previous wishes/plans for myself. But time and again I also get reminded that God never requires us to trade something for something else we want more. He is the giver of everything. And I trust that at the right time I can receive my wishes for myself too. Thank you for reading and for the awesome compliments. 🙂

    2. You too, have moved me to tears. I think, all those of us, who read your writings, dream of the things you write about and we also aspire for such things. It is only natural. Especially once, one reads or experiences more things in one’s life. Thank you for letting us feel your words. You have accomplished your goals with these poems. Your audience have felt you and also have been brought to those far off places and situations that you so vividly and expressively write about. May God continue to grant you this wonderful gift.

  7. Thank you for making me realize our day-to-day existence is more than ordinary, and is meaningful than it seems.

    1. Sometimes I also have to remind myself. 🙂 Thanks and keep doing what you do.

  8. Your poetry brings tears of joy to my eyes, contemplating the love of which you wo eloquently speak.

    1. Thank you for opening your heart to my writings and I’m glad it gave you something back. ❤

  9. Did I tell you you are my role model?!!! Gosh! You write…..and it goes straight for my heart!

    1. You just made my heart smile. 🙂 I am no role model, but I am nothing if not sincere. 😉

  10. Absolutely Beautiful … So romantic and poetic and yet realistic and honest.. I love it …

    1. Why thank you. That was the intention. ❤

  11. [PING BACK]

    Imelda Orprecio Favorite ko na po ito. Pero first ko palang to nabasa. I will read everything. Thank you for sharing heart emoticon Your daughter is an exceptional poet – she’s amazing!

  12. [PING BACK]

    Very nicely, gently written, by Iris Price, reminding us that casting our dreams afar could deprive us of the beauties, and chances, that lie in our laps.

    1. Thank you so much. I wrote this around 5 am on a weekday, while I was breastfeeding my then 4-week-old son. I was scrolling through my Facebook news feed reading about all the adventures of my more well-off friends, and decided not to feel bogged down by depression or the feeling of being trapped or that I was missing out. I decided to be happy with what I had going on, and I wrote this poem, one of my proudest works, to mark the occasion.

      Thanks for the reminder.

    2. Dave Armishaw Avatar
      Dave Armishaw

      I was just thinking of how many stories of children whose mothers were overwhelmed with could-have-been, for professional opportunities that they gave up for marriage or children. And the profound effect on children. You seem to have chosen a different path.

    3. It’s a decision I make in increments each day. Some days are easier than others.

    4. Dave Armishaw Avatar
      Dave Armishaw

      Yes! Sometimes it makes the wins more precious, not every work experience is extra special!

  13. Dave Armishaw Avatar
    Dave Armishaw

    Just rereading, what a lovely, precious gift you have. Wonderful!!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Get updates

From art exploration to the latest archeological findings, all here in our weekly newsletter.

Subscribe