Tags

, , , , ,

I send you love—

not
the politically correct kind,
or the pick your words carefully
and offend no one kind

I send you irreverent love,
love that crosses borders
without a passport

and openly weeps
and uses profanity
and drives fists into concrete
until they bleed.

I send you love
of breached walls
and unprotected lungs
breathing deeply the smoky air
permeated by the miasma
of your grief.

I send you love
of bared feet
walking boldly where shards
of screaming and gunfire
will litter the streets
for years to come.

I send you love
through the gap under the door
that you have locked
to take off your clothes
to inventory your bruises
and draw a map
of the aching world
on your nakedness.

I send you love,
I hope,
at the place you need it most,
the most torn,
the most lost,
the place where the horizon
is all skewed and prayers
are a pile of broken bones.
.

DamDeFer_AndreaAversano
.
“dam de fer” by photographer Andrea Aversano

The title was inspired by the title of the essay “Hands over the China Sea” by Agnes Marquez, who in 1999 won a writing competition centered on the friendship between the Philippines and South Korea.

.

You might also like:
OfficerBadge_thumbLifetimeSupply_thumbOnDayWarnings_thumbKirikane_thumb

