Tags

,

I gaze at you quietly
and occupy my side of the stillness
big enough to accommodate my affairs
but I keep my eyes on you
across the state borders that
I drew on air with lavender chalk
and pretended were there only
so I could give you some sort of space
just in case you need room to maneuver
and with nimble feet for thoughts
I play hopscotch with your movements
and negotiate the shared space
trying to respect your solitude
so we could give and take words
like cultured people
but you look quizzically
at all my fastidious silliness
and pull me from across the mess
of pillows and silken politeness
and we collapse in each other’s arms,
the whole universe undone
and tangled up in our laughter
.

hannahanddave_bycarolinetran
.
from “Hannah + Dave | Santa Monica Beach”
.
by photographer Caroline Tran

.

You might also like:
Closeness_thumbFort_thumbFootnote_thumb

