Tags

, , , , , ,

I have something I want to tell you. I think you’ll understand. Have
you ever had that feeling,
you ever had that feeling, when the lobes of your brain short-
circuited and your skin and blood meddled with your thoughts and
your bodily functions claimed the beating of your heart as one of
their own, when your capacity for feeling overflowed with so much
emotion that it was your body, finally, that took the excess and did
something with it?
something with it? We were just talking, you know, one of those
pleasures that you and I mutually indulge in, feeding the fire a
little at a time with the random driftwood of our lives that wash
ashore in our consciousness, sharing ourselves with each other
and watching the sparks fly deliciously making our spines tingle,
thawing out the untended frozen corners of our souls by and by, at
the back of our minds thinking, this is how it should feel like, isn’t
this how it should feel like?
this how it should feel like? like cruising at 30mph down a seaside
road heading somewhere that promises to be beautiful, anticipating
the destination as much as letting the scenery embellish the
passport of our spirits and mingle with our bank of dreams,
passport of our spirits and mingle with our bank of dreams, with
me sometimes getting lost in the rise and fall of your voice, trying
to bring closer what that look in your face reminded me of, and
pretending to be offended because when you sang me Happy
Birthday
you called me Little Iris when in truth I found it charming
and all the while hoping to hear you laugh again, your presence
piercing the three-dimensional reality of the morning.
piercing the three-dimensional reality of the morning. And after you
left me among my things of consequence so you could attend to
your own, with a brown-sugar-laced goodbye-for-now and a half-
well-done, half-medium-rare promise of a next time, this song Tell
Him by Lauryn Hill played on the radio
Him by Lauryn Hill played on the radio and she was so astute and
so eloquent and her humility and desire to understand that love
being spoken about in the thirteenth verse of the First Corinthians
were the last things I saw
were the last things I saw before searing tears made me put my
hands up to my eyes and the next thing I knew my body was on fire
and my yearning for your touch burned like fever and when I
whispered your name softly into the recently innocent air it tasted
on my tongue like an intensely private code word to tell you I’m on
the edge
the edge so you better not stop you better keep going you better
give me all you’ve got because I’m about to show you how a woman
can love you and need you and want you
can love you and need you and want you all over herself

.

JBackius
.
“Striking Beauty” from Jimmy Backius
