Tags

, , , , ,

Let’s pretend that
you’re as smitten about me
as I am about you.

Pretend that when
…..you walk into the office
…..your heart is earnestly hoping
…..you’d find me there alone.
Pretend that when
…..you ask me how I am,
…..instead of doing it
…..just to be polite,
…..you’re really acting on
…..a soul-piercing desire to find
…..an excuse to talk to me.
Pretend that you’re
…..interested in what I do.
Pretend that I
…..am the girl of your dreams
…..and the real reason why
…..you never ask me
…..to join you for lunch
…..is because it would
…..break your heart too much
…..if I ever turned you down.

Then I can stop pretending
…..my days aren’t infinitely better
…..when you’re near,
and I can stop pretending
…..the mere hint of your cologne
…..gets my senses going
…..stronger than caffeine
stop pretending
…..I write stories in my free time
…..and fashion all my heroes
…..after you,
stop pretending
…..you’re just another guy
…..and I don’t find you
…..handsome and funny
…..and adorable and clever
…..enough to lose sleep over

and maybe when
you and I have regrouped
the burden of pretense
we can generate
a semblance of attraction
and start something
wonderful.
.

flowersdew
.
“Summer Rain” by photographer Roope Sirola
